bloggerclassicview

Switching from Blogger Classic to Layout View (and vice-versa)

In 2009 Blogger introduced a new layout setup for bloggers using their blogging platform.  The new setup simplifies the process of changing the look and feel of your blogger site.  In the past, you had to get more into the nuts and bolts of the HTML and CSS affecting your blogger template if you wanted to make substantive changes.  The new layout allows you to make changes using a more push-button type approach.  Although Blogger still allows users to stay with the Classic view, any time you make a change to your blog layout using the Classic view, you are prompted to upgrade to the updated system.

Here are some images that illustrate the difference between the classic Blogger layout and the new one.

Blogger’s classic view, shown above, looks much simpler than the new one.  However, the only real push-button feature available with the classic view is the ability to change the NavBar color.  The new view, shown below, allows bloggers to add and remove gadgets and to customize the gadgets without having to sort through HTML markup and CSS style tags.

To change from Blogger’s classic view to the new version, click on the Template tab.  Then click on Customize Design.  You will then be prompted to “Upgrade Your Template”.  Click that button.  Then choose the upgraded template you want to use, and you’re all set up with the new feature layout.

Switching back to Classic View

If for some reason you want to switch back to the classic view, Blogger accommodates doing so.  To switch back, click on the Layout tab, and go to Edit HTML.  Near the bottom of the screen is a link that says “Revert to Classic Template”.  Click on that link. You will be informed that the classic design you currently use will be saved for you to use later, and you’ll be given the chance to okay the change or cancel it.

By saving the classic version of the template, Blogger makes it easier for bloggers to switch to the upgraded system without worrying about not being able to go back to their former template.  Should you be hesitant to move to the updated setup because you have an affinity for your classic look, you can try out the upgraded layout, and if it doesn’t work for you, you can restore your classic view, even if it’s been personalized, the same as you had it previous to upgrading.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *